Become a VOLUNTEER

Thank you to all the wonderful volunteers from Women’s Electoral Lobby, Soroptimist International and Blur Projects who supported the April activation of the UNSEEN Car in Martin Place.

Volunteers are now needed to support the UNSEEN Tiny House and UNSEEN Car at Martin Place and Circular Quay Sydney between 11 April 2021 and 5 December 2021.

Would you like to help the UNSEEN Project to:

  • Assist audience members by answering questions about the project and the opportunities it provides.
  • Offer information about services for women experiencing housing insecurity and homelessness.
  • Ensure COVID plan adhered to.

To express your interest in becoming an UNSEEN volunteer, please scroll for dates, times and locations for which we are seeking volunteers to assist onsite during each month and email Belinda Mason on photography@belindamason.com  with your preferences. For full details of the events go to our What’s On and When page.

MAY 2021

Monday 17  to Sunday 23 May 2021

Theme: Domestic Violence Prevention Month, International Day Against Homophobia & Transphobia, Reconcilliation Day
Artwork: The UNSEEN Car and UNSEEN Tiny House
Artist in Residence: Photographer Linda Warlond
Time: 8:30am to 6:30pm
Location: Martin Place, Sydney (between Pitt and Castlereagh Streets)
VOLUNTEERS NEEDED
Timeslots Mon 17 May 2021 Tue 18 May  2021 Wed 19 May2021 Thu 20 May 2021 Fri 21 May 2021 Sat 22 May 2021 Sun 23 May 2021
8.30am – 12.30pm Maree F

Maggie X

Paula K

Maggie X

 Hornsby Soroptimist Paula K

Alexandra S

Paula K

1 volunteer needed

Paula K

Alexandra S

Paula K

Alexandra S

12pm – 2pm Pets in the Park Pets in the Park Pets in the Park

and Hornsby Soroptimist

Pets in the Park Pets in the Park Pets in the Park Pets in the Park
12.30pm – 3.30pm Kylie N

Subini H

Kylie N

Jane B

 Hornsby Soroptimist Kylie N

1 volunteer needed

Kylie N

1 volunteer needed

Camille P

1 volunteer needed

2 volunteers needed
3.00pm – 6.30pm Jane B

1 volunteer needed

Alexandra S

Maree F.

 Hornsby Soroptimist Alice Y

Heather W

2 volunteers needed Jenny S.

Camille P.

2 volunteers needed

JUNE 2021

Monday 14  to Sunday 20 June 2021

 
Theme: World Elder Abuse Awareness Day
Artwork: The UNSEEN Car and UNSEEN Tiny House
Artist in Residence: TBC
Location: Circular Quay Sydney (opposite Customs House 33 Alfred St)
 
VOLUNTEERS NEEDED
Timeslots Mon 14 June 2021 Tue 15 June 2021 Wed 16 June 2021 Thu 17 June 2021 Fri 18 June 2021 Sat 19 June 2021 Sun 20 June 2021
8.30am – 12.30pm 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed
12pm – 2pm 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteer needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteer needed
12.30pm – 3.30pm 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed
3.00pm – 6.30pm 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed

JULY 2021

Monday 05  to Sunday 11 July 2021

Theme: NAIDOC Week
Artwork: The UNSEEN Car and UNSEEN Tiny House
Artist in Residence: Master Weaver Nadeena Dixon
Location: Martin Place Sydney (between Pitt and Castlereagh Streets)
VOLUNTEERS NEEDED
Timeslots Mon 05 July 2021 Tue 06 July 2021 Wed 07 July 2021 Thu 08 July 2021 Fri 09 July 2021 Sat 10 July 2021 Sun 11 July 2021
8.30am – 12.30pm 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed
12pm – 2pm 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteer needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteer needed
12.30pm – 3.30pm 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed
3.00pm – 6.30pm 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed

AUGUST 2021

Monday 02  to Friday 27 August 2021

 

Theme: Homelessness Awareness Month
Artwork: The UNSEEN Car and UNSEEN Tiny House
Artist in Residence: Belinda Mason and Dieter Knierim

Multiple Locations:

  • Exhibition at NSW Parliament House Fountain Court Gallery, 4 – 25 August 2021. Monday – Friday 9:30am – 4:00pm
  • UNSEEN Tiny House, UNSEEN Tiny Car and UNSEEN Couch location TBC

Special Events:

  • Event NSW Parliament House function for UNSEEN
  • VIVID IDEAS – location and date  TBC
  • Share the Dignity Kiosk

BOOK YOUR FREE TICKETS

Volunteers Required:
8.30am -12-30am  x 2 volunteers needed
12pm -2pm  x 1 volunteer needed
12.30pm – 3.30pm  x 2 volunteers needed
3pm -6.30pm x 2 volunteers needed

Please contact us to volunteer

SEPTEMBER 2021

Monday 06  to Sunday 12 September 2021

Theme: RUOK?, Women’s Health, Suicide Prevention
Artwork: The UNSEEN Car and UNSEEN Tiny House
Artist in Residence: TBC
Location: Circular Quay Sydney (opposite Customs House 33 Alfred St)
VOLUNTEERS NEEDED
Timeslots Mon 06 Sept 2021 Tue 07 Sept 2021 Wed 08 Sept 2021 Thu 09 Sept 2021 Fri 10 Sept 2021 Sat 11 Sept 2021 Sun 12 Sept 2021
8.30am – 12.30pm 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed
12pm – 2pm 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteer needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteer needed
12.30pm – 3.30pm 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed
3.00pm – 6.30pm 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed

OCTOBER 2021

Monday 11  to Sunday 17  October 2021

Theme: World Mental Health Week, World Homelessness Day
Artwork: The UNSEEN Car and UNSEEN Tiny House
Artist in Residence: TBC
Location: Circular Quay Sydney (opposite Customs House 33 Alfred St)
VOLUNTEERS NEEDED
Timeslots Mon 11 Oct 2021 Tue 12 Oct 2021 Wed 13 Oct 2021 Thu 14 Oct 2021 Fri 15 Oct 2021 Sat 16 Oct 2021 Sun 17 Oct 2021
8.30am – 12.30pm 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed
12pm – 2pm 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteer needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteer needed
12.30pm – 3.30pm 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed
3.00pm – 6.30pm 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed

NOVEMBER 2021

Monday 22  to Sunday 28 November 2021

* Note: No event on Saturday 27 November*

Theme: 16 Days of Activism against Gender Violence, Apology to the Forgotten Australians & Former Child Migrants
Artwork: The UNSEEN Car and UNSEEN Tiny House
Artist in Residence: TBC
Elder in Residence: Aunty Dixie Link Gordon, Founder Breaking Silent Codes
Location: Martin Place, Sydney (between Pitt and Castlereagh Streets)
VOLUNTEERS NEEDED
Timeslots Mon 22 Nov 2021 Tue 23 Nov 2021 Wed 24 Nov 2021 Thu 25 Nov 2021 Fri 26 Nov 2021 Sat 27 Nov 2021 Sun 28 Nov 2021
8.30am – 12.30pm 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed No events 2 volunteers needed
12pm – 2pm 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteer needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteer needed No events 1 volunteer needed
12.30pm – 3.30pm 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed No events 2 volunteers needed
3.00pm – 6.30pm 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed No events 2 volunteers needed

DECEMBER 2021

Monday 29  November to Sunday 05 December 2021

 
Theme: International Day of People with Disability
Artwork:The UNSEEN Car and UNSEEN Tiny House
Artist in Residence: Denise Beckwith
Location: Circular Quay, Sydney (opposite Customs House 33 Alfred Street)
 
VOLUNTEERS NEEDED
Timeslots Mon 29 Nov 2021 Tue 30 Nov 2021 Wed 01 Dec 2021 Thu 02 Dec 2021 Fri 03 Dec 2021 Sat 04 Dec 2021 Sun 05 Dec 2021
8.30am – 12.30pm 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed
12pm – 2pm 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteer needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteers needed 1 volunteer needed
12.30pm – 3.30pm 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed
3.00pm – 6.30pm 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed volunteers from Hornsby Soroptimist 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed

APRIL 2021

Sunday 11 to Friday 16 April 2021

 
Theme: Youth Homelessness and Sexual Assault Awareness Month
Artwork: The UNSEEN Car and UNSEEN Tiny House
Artist in Residence: participant Michelle Wilkie in conjunction with Homelessness In Focus
Time: 8.30am – 6.30pm
Location: Martin Place, Sydney (between Pitt and Castlereagh Streets)
 
VOLUNTEERS NEEDED
Timeslots Sun  11 April 2021 Mon 12 April 2021 Tue 13 April 2021 Wed 14 April 2021 Thu 15 April 2021 Fri 16 April 2021
8.30am – 12.30pm Jordon BLUR

Jane WEL

Claire WEL

Jane WEL

1 volunteers needed

Paula BLUR

Ann, Pam and Julie from Hornsby Soroptimist

 

Paula BLUR

Claire WEL

1 volunteer needed

Mithila BLUR

 

 

12pm – 2pm Jordon BLUR Rigmor WEL Bette WEL Maureen from Hornsby Soroptimist 1 volunteer needed 1 volunteer needed
12.30pm – 3.30pm Rigmor WEL

Jane WEL

Paula BLUR

Jan WEL

1 volunteer needed

Jan WEL

Lesley & Cathy from Hornsby Soroptimist 1 volunteers needed

JennyK BLUR

1 volunteers needed

Mithila BLUR

3.00pm – 6.30pm 1 volunteer needed

Paula BLUR

1  volunteers needed

Paula BLUR

Yashmin and Mai BLUR  Lily Deb & Chris  from Hornsby Soroptimist 2 volunteers needed 2 volunteers needed